Derrick Sears Award

The Derrick Sears Award is earned by the player who demonstrates: great play, outstanding effort in practice and games, a team first attitude, a great work ethic, good academic record. Derrick exemplified all of these qualities which prompted the coaches to name the award after him. Derrick won the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar Athlete Award.


Player Year
Derrick Sears 2001
Nat Jackson 2002
Travis Ludden 2003
Jason Lovett 2004
Byron Allen 2005
Octavious Williams 2006
Larry Gibbs 2007
Drake Sanders 2008
Donnie Santiso 2009
Sean Campbell 2010
Calvin Huggins & Tyler Nimon 2011
Vinny Mihota 2012
Gus Little 2013
Chris Campbell 2014
Joey Benden 2015
Trey Carson 2016
Ricky Perez-Macia 2017
Teagan McDonald & Miles Washington 2018